Seeds Sewn: The Re-Cycling Hatter of Boston


Beginnings
May 4, 2009, 8:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So here I begin. Seeds Sewn began about a year ago when I could not find a cycling hat that fit my kid-sized head. I decided in that moment that searching was futile and creation of a custom hat was the way to go. So thus began my journey; first by hand, then by machine, thanks to a generous Christmas gift from my in-laws.

The first 50 or so were hideous and no matter how bad anyone wants to see them, they will never be shared. But practice makes perfect and I have to admit, I am still learning on a daily basis. That’s life though, isn’t it? You have an idea, you try it, you fail, you try it again, you get better and then eventually it becomes second nature. It’s like riding a bike. OK maybe not, but bikes and cycling hats go hand in hand most of the time.

I strive to make the highest quality, handmade cycling hats possible from 100% recycled fabrics that cater t both form and function. Summer and winter weights are available seasonally as well as custom orders year round. I work in cottons, poly-blends and wools depending on the season and need of the rider. My hats can be seen in person at OPEN bicycle in Union Square, Somerville, MA as well as at etsy.com (coming soon). Check out my twitter too, to find out when new styles and lines drop. Thanks for stopping and reading, now go ride your bike!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Just saw the Thrillist piece! I definitely want to feature your hats on my new F. Rock men’s blog “man about town” and via Twitter. Totally something guys looking at my bags would want to know about. Let’s chat… I’m not at Boston Common this week, but am working on launching the blog so would love to get photos and do a Q&A with you.

Nicole’

Comment by Nicole'




Leave a Reply

